Skip to content

Advanced Settings

You can view all the settings Starboard has to offer with the following command:

`/settings view`

The command to change a setting will be found in the corresponding category the setting is listed in. For example, the command to change Sync Message Edits (found in the Miscellaneous category), is /settings edit misc.

Starboard has a few more advanced settings that you can customise.

Filter Blacklisted Users

You can blacklist users so they can’t star messages or have their messages on the starboard. This setting modifies this behaviour regarding blacklisted users.

You have 3 options:

  • filter blacklisted authors, meaning no one can star messages sent by blacklisted users
  • filter blacklisted reactors, meaning blacklisted users can’t star messages by anyone
  • filter both blacklisted authors & reactors, meaning blacklisted users can’t star messages or have their messages on the starboard. This is the default behaviour.

To change this behaviour, edit the Filter Blacklisted Users setting.

`/settings edit filteringfilter-blacklisted-users:Filter Both (Reactors & Message Authors)`

Starboard React

By default, the bot reacts to every starboard message it posts, to offer users a shortcut — users can either react to the starboard message to add a star, or go and find the original message to add a star. This is recommended behaviour.

To change this behaviour, edit the Starboard React setting.

`/settings edit miscstarboard-react:Upvote & Downvote Emojis`

Sync Message Deletes

When this setting is enabled, if a message that has been reposted to the starboard gets deleted, its corresponding starboard message will be deleted also.

`/settings edit miscsync-message-deletes:False`

This is disabled by default.

Sync Message Edits

When this setting is enabled, starboard messages will be updated whenever the original message is edited, to match the content.

`/settings edit miscsync-message-edits:True`

This is disabled by default.

When Deleted

This setting gives you the option to dictate what happens when a starboard message is deleted.

You have 4 options:

  • do nothing - users can star the message again to get it back on the starboard
  • repost the starboard message immediately
  • freeze the starred message so it can’t get any more stars
  • trash (and freeze) the starred message
`/settings edit miscwhen-deleted:Do Nothing`

By default, nothing happens when a starboard message is deleted.